Independent Schools Queensland Independent Schools Queensland

Start of Content

Board of Directors

Independent Schools Queensland is governed by a Board of Directors. Directors are appointed for 3-year terms, with one-third of directors retiring each year.

Board of Directors

Board of Directors Organisation & Position

Mrs Karen Spiller OAM (Chair)

John Paul College - Principal

Dr Lynne Doneley (Deputy Chair)

Gulf Christian College - Governing Body Representative

Dr Steven Austen (Director) 

Cooloola Christian College Ltd - Governing Body Representative

Mr Richard Brown (Director)

Toowoomba Christian College - Principal

Ms Ros Curtis (Director) 

St Margaret's Anglican Girls School - Principal

Dr Phillip Moulds (Chair - Education Committee)         

The Rockhampton Grammar School - Headmaster

Mr David Bliss (Director)

St Andrew's Lutheran College - Principal

Mrs Leisa Harper (Director)


Mr Geoff McLay (Chair - Finance Committee)

West Moreton Anglican College - Principal

Ms Yvonne Packbier (Director)

St Michael's College - Governing Body Representative

Mrs Jane Schmitt (Director) 

Anglican Church Grammar School - Representative

Mr Geoff Newton (Director)

Hillbrook Anglican School - Principal


Education Committee

The Board of Directors appoints the constituted Education Committee on an annual basis following the AGM. The committee is chaired by a board member. 

Education Committee Members Organisation & Position

Dr Phillip Moulds (Chair - Education Committee)   

The Rockhampton Grammar School - Headmaster

Ms Donna Anderson

Canterbury College - Head of College

Ms Cae Ashton

Autism Queensland Education and Therapy Centre - Principal

Mr Craig Bassingthwaighte

Somerset College - Headmaster

Mrs Kathy Bishop

Clayfield College - Principal

Dr Bronwyn Dolling

Pacific Lutheran College - Principal

Dr Linda Evans

Fairholme College - Principal

Mr Nigel Fairbairn

Blackheath and Thornburgh College - Principal

Mr Christopher Jack

Birali Steiner School - Principal

Mr Colin Minke

Immanuel Lutheran College - Principal

Mr Paul Sjogren

Trinity Anglican School - Principal

Mr Gary Smith

Australian Industry Trade College - Principal


The board also has two other standing committees; the Finance Committee and the Remuneration and Nominations Committee.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee members are:

  • Mr Geoff McLay (Chair - Finance Committee)
  • Mr Richard Brown
  • Dr Steven Austen

Remuneration and Nominations Committee

The Remuneration and Nominations Committee members are:

  • Mrs Karen Spiller OAM
  • Dr Lynne Doneley 
  • Mr Geoff McLay

From time to time, the board also establishes sub-committees to consider specific issues.

Latest News & Events

Countdown to ISQ State Forum

17 May 2019 - Experts will challenge legacy thinking, structures and practice in school education and urge independent school leaders to Think Next at the 2019 ISQ State Forum on 29 May.

Read more

ISQ Briefings - Economic conditions & the sector

17 May 2019 - In this issue of Briefings, ISQ ED David Robertson discusses the impact economic conditions could have on independent schools, while Director (School Improvement & Performance) Mark Newham & Executive Manager (Curriculum & Assessment) Jenene Rosser examine whether learning progressions are the solution the Australian schooling sector needs.

Read more